54 Followers
61 Following
readingdate

The Reading Date

Hello fellow book lovers! I'm Lucy and I blog about books, audiobooks and movies at The Reading Date. I'm testing the waters over here to see how it goes. What are you reading?

Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Will Grayson, Will Grayson - John Green;David Levithan Will Grayson, Will Grayson is about two high school boys with the same name who both live in Chicago. One is straight, and one is gay, and they both are struggling with their personal life. They happen to cross paths one night and their lives start to intersect. In the middle is straight-Will-Grayson’s best friend Tiny, who is gay and not tiny at all. The two Will Grayson’s and Tiny are all dealing with their own matters of the heart. Meanwhile, Tiny is putting on a high school musical production based on his life entitled “Tiny Dancer.”This book is co-written by John Green and David Levithan. John Green writes the odd numbered chapters in the POV of Will Grayson, and David Levithan writes the even numbered chapters in the POV of the other Will Grayson. This is the first book I have read by John Green, and the second book I have read by David Levithan (Dash & Lily.) I was completely wrong in my guess for which author wrote which character. John Green’s Will reminded me a bit of Dash and that threw me off.This book is perfect for the audiobook format. The two voice actors do a great job voicing characters, including singing the musical numbers.The characters are honest and complex, and realistic portrayals of teenage boys. Early on I connected with John Green’s Will Grayson. He is loyal and awkward, an indie music fan, and someone trying to figure out what he wants out of life. I did not connect with the other Will Grayson immediately. He is angry and full of angst and generally hard to like, and I was dreading his chapters. However, as the story continued my opinion of the other Will softened, and I ended up liking him just as much as John Green’s Will Grayson. Tiny Cooper is over the top and fearless. Did I mention he writes, directs and stars in his own high school musical? I liked that the parents in the book were portrayed realistically and normal, not villainous. The friend characters Jane, Maura and Gideon all are positive additions to the story.This book is a smart, funny and honest, character driven book about identity issues and acceptance. This book would make a great movie. I recommend this book for fans of John Green and David Levithan and for anyone looking for a funny, touching, contemporary read. I especially recommend the audio format of this book.